I need more practice

Again, it has been far too long since my last post. I’m not sure if anyone actually reads this, but it doesn’t hurt to try and update once in a while.

I’ve haven’t been drawing as much as I’d like too. Most of my time has been spent on the drawings for the 2D-course, naturally, so my personal work has been lacking a little. I do draw each and every day, if only a few strokes on a bigger project or some quick sketches, and I do doodle a lot, though I don’t feel that I’m taking enough time to work on things. I’ve started I don’t know how many images, but I haven’t finished half of them. I’ve become very tired and scatter-brained, now that winters’ here and it’s become dark and cold outside. It tires me out, waking up when the sun hasn’t risen yet, going to the university to sit inside, in a room that doesn’t support oxygen and then going home when the sun has already set again. I’ll be going home to my parents’ home over the holidays, and hopefully I’ll regain some of my energy when surrounded by family, the animals and the forest.

In the 2D-course, we’ve used our thumbnails to create a character. This is Bella and her friend Alfred the Jellyfish. I’ve practically written a story about these two whilst working on their designs.

Image

We’ve been doing some linearts, and I really feel that I need to practice more on that. I’m not entirely sure of what I’m doing when linearting, and I’d like to feel more comfortable drawing them. Especially the jellyfish was a pain, and I felt hopeless trying to figure out how to go about him. I’m still not entirely happy with the outcome, and hope to get some feedback from the teachers so that I can perhaps find another way to do this. I’ll be looking back at this in a year, laughing at myself. That’s a comfortable thought.

Image

Image

This week we’re practicing values. I’ll remind myself to upload some of the tests here when I’m done. We’ve also gotten our homework that we’ll be doing over the holiday. Hopefully I’ll be able to finish that early so that I can take it easy and relax when I get home.

Have a great week guys, and a happy holiday!

MPh out.

Leave a comment